Tuesday, July 10, 2007

Boo hoo hooooo UNESCO slams seven 'new' wonders of the world
The UN body for culture today blasted a private initiative that drew nearly 100 million internet and telephone voters to choose seven "new" wonders of the world.

"This campaign responds to other criteria and objectives than that of UNESCO in the field of heritage," said Sue Williams, the spokeswoman for the UN cultural body that designates world heritage sites. "We have a much broader vision," she told AFP.

Voters chose the Great Wall of China; India's Taj Mahal; the centuries-old pink ruins of Petra in Jordan; the Colosseum in Rome; the statue of Christ overlooking Rio de Janeiro; the Incan ruins of Machu Picchu in Peru; and the ancient Mayan city of Chichen Itza in Mexico.

[insert several thousand snide comments here]

My 7 so far:
Great Wall
Channel Tunnel
Easter Island